Complete Kitchen Reno - advice?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jade Emperor

Sous Chef
Hello dear DCers

So the time is approaching.
For background, my father passed away last year and I inherited his house, the family home where I grew up.
Option was obviously to sell for a substantial amount of money, or move in and return it to my family home. We moved in.
Now, this house was built in 1955, and only some areas have been renovated since, the kitchen not being one. I have a strong feeling that my father left this project for me, knowing that I am a chef.
The entire kitchen is going to be gutted and overhauled.
My budget is $50k.
I am flexible on some design elements and not so on others. One of my friends has suggested that I buy all the new appliances myself and have them ready to be installed, rather than having a project manager do it.
Are you able to offer any other ideas, suggestions or advice? Considering that this is going to be a large and expensive project I would like to have my eyes open all the way through.
It’s highly unlikely that this kitchen will ever be renovated again .

I'm sure I'll have more to say once I think about it for a while, but I would strongly encourage you to hire a project manager to help you plan and execute the renovation, including installing the appliances. When we renovated our kitchen, we had electrical capacity increased, more outlets installed, and water lines added, in addition to custom cabinets and counters ordered, delivered and installed. Installation of all these elements has to follow a specific order and imo, someone who does this work all the time is best suited to make sure everything that's needed to complete it in a timely manner is ordered and delivered, any necessary permits obtained, the various workers scheduled and other details taken care of.

Last edited:
Awesome sauce advice there @GotGarlic