I need Meat Grinder info

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

David Cottrell

Head Chef
Ok all home cooks, I need a meat grinder - hand crank, not fancy to regrind purchased ground meat and perhaps to grind some from "scratch". A lady of Ukrainian heritage told me that she can't make the "creamy" peroshies her mother made and the same old thing, mother is sadly gone, etc. Apparently she can't find anyone of Ukrainian heritage who can duplicate her mother's cooking.:ermm:

I suspect it's in the commercial grind being too coarse and perhaps the meat she uses isn't lean enough.

I have no experience with appliances - I have next to none and don't know a good brand from a bad one. Anyone have experience with meat grinders? I might even learn to make sausages! :chef:

All of you who are teaching your children to cook are giving them a life time gift!

grinder reply

The hand grinders would be interesting. I use a kitchen aid with a grinder attachment. It has two plates, one for course and one for fine. I also have used a regualr grinder but I prefer the kitchen aid. I remember the hand grinders from when I was a kid. They should be resonable at thrift stores as no one uses them much. I make swedish potato sausage most every year with the kitchenaid and it works great. Grinding pork and beef, potatoes and onions. There is some great info on the web at bucher supply houses. Hope this helps a little. Roy

FWIW, I've never used a hand crank grinder but do own the Northern Industrial Tools Electric Meat Grinder (www2.northerntool.com). I've used it to grind mostly chicken (and even chicken wings for the dog -- but the manufacturer does not endorse grinding bones of any kind). The meat does seem to come be less course than store bought but I don't know if would be fine enough for you.