Whole-grain bread FAIL - not dough but soup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

uscgvet

Assistant Cook
Here are the ingredients I used:
  • 4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 2/3 cup 10 grain cereal, dry & uncooked
  • 2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon yeast (instant or active dry)
  • 3 cups cool water
I mixed it, let it rise overnight (about 22 hours), it more than doubled in bulk. It was very wet, I almost poured it onto the board. I turned and turned with a scraper, kept adding flour to the soup, after maybe 20 minutes it was solid enough to put in the muffin cups. I must have added a cup of flour. I did the second rise, baked at 450 for 15 minutes. They are dry and tasteless. I'm a brand new baker so I'm so grateful for this friendly community. What do you-all reckon I did wrong? Thanks so much!

Was there anything else from the recipe? Was the rise as the recipe said?
Usually a recipe will say if the dough is going to be extremely wet, etc.

I would probably toss the recipe and head for the King Arthur site.

Good luck!
Excellent advice.

That recipe seems wonky. For example, it says use either active dry or instant yeast. Then it calls for a ton of cool water. Active dry yeast won’t work unless the water is warm.

Excellent advice.

That recipe seems wonky. For example, it says use either active dry or instant yeast. Then it calls for a ton of cool water. Active dry yeast won’t work unless the water is warm.
I'm not sure about that. I have had yeast rise with cool water. Regular yeast. But I always add a pinch of sugar. I bought a jar of it last time and I guess it will be a little while before I need any more yeast.

I'm not sure about that. I have had yeast rise with cool water. Regular yeast. But I always add a pinch of sugar. I bought a jar of it last time and I guess it will be a little while before I need any more yeast.
You're right!