New software....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Andy R

Site Team
Staff member
Joined
Feb 14, 2002
Messages
957
Location
Dallas, Tx
I have completed the conversion to the new software. Look for lots of little features to "pop up" soon as I turn them on. I'll be fixing stuff all day. If you see anything funky or have problems post them here.
 

kitchenelf

Chef Extraordinaire
Joined
Feb 21, 2002
Messages
19,722
Location
North Carolina
Yea!!!! Looks great Andy!

I know there's icons you can choose for your messages too - I feel they just have to be "activated" somehow.
 

GB

Chief Eating Officer
Joined
Jul 14, 2004
Messages
25,510
Location
USA,Massachusetts
It took me a moment to figure out how to log on, but now that I am here it looks great. You got us up and running so quickly. Great work Andy!
 

AllenOK

Executive Chef
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Messages
3,463
Location
USA, Oklahoma
Ok, I had a problem logging in. When the main page loaded, I immediately realized that the new software was up and running. Goodie! I see there is a login on the upper right corner of the main page. I knew I would have to login manually, as my browser's Wand (password) function wasn't set for this page yet. I logged in, and when my browser asked me if I wanted to remember the login handle and password for that page, I clicked yes. This normally will set the cookie into my browser, and automatically log me into the site. I got to the index page, but was NOT logged it. I wasn't able to log in until I replied to this post and manually logged in, while telling my browser NOT to remember my login and password for this page.

I'm using a laptop, with Win98, and the browser I'm using is Opera v.7.54.

I have another pc, with WinXP, and use the same browser. I don't know if I'll have problems with that one or not. I'll have to try it later and let you all know.
 

GB

Chief Eating Officer
Joined
Jul 14, 2004
Messages
25,510
Location
USA,Massachusetts
I had the same problem Allen. Once I posted a message though my cookie was set and I have not had to log in again.
 

norgeskog

Washing Up
Joined
Aug 28, 2004
Messages
3,615
Location
Eugene, Oregon
At first glimpse, I am not impressed, old one was better. Now there are those horrible pop-ups on the right side of the screen where you scroll. Not good at all. Hopefully the ads will go back to what they were.
 

Andy R

Site Team
Staff member
Joined
Feb 14, 2002
Messages
957
Location
Dallas, Tx
There are no pop-ups being served from our site. Can you explain what you see better?
 

norgeskog

Washing Up
Joined
Aug 28, 2004
Messages
3,615
Location
Eugene, Oregon
Andy R said:
There are no pop-ups being served from our site. Can you explain what you see better?

On the right side of the screen, where we scroll using the arror, there were a number of cookbooks advertised, and, as usual, when you hand moves ever-so-lightly, up came an order screen.
 

Andy R

Site Team
Staff member
Joined
Feb 14, 2002
Messages
957
Location
Dallas, Tx
Those are not from this site. It sounds like you might have some type of spyware that reads the page your on and provides relevant ads?!? I can assure you that those ads are not from this site. The home apge has "cooking" related books from Amazon offered but that is it...
 

wasabi

Executive Chef
Joined
Jul 6, 2004
Messages
4,677
Wow, am I in the right place?

I cannot post on Firefox. I am posting with Explorer. Why is that?
 

wasabi

Executive Chef
Joined
Jul 6, 2004
Messages
4,677
Thanks Andy. I am now posting from Firefox. There's alot to get used to here. Just feeling my way around for now.
 

pdswife

Chef Extraordinaire
Joined
Nov 4, 2004
Messages
20,334
Location
Mazatlan
Wow!
I like it. Thanks Andy.
Can't wait for the photo gallery to come on line.

Thanks,
Trish
 

AllenOK

Executive Chef
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Messages
3,463
Location
USA, Oklahoma
Andy R said:
There are no pop-ups being served from our site. Can you explain what you see better?

Perhaps I can help. I've got a bar of "Ads by Google" that's coming through on the Opera web browsers that I'm using on BOTH of my computers. I took a screen shot after I hovered my mouse over the "Quick Links" at the top, clicked that, then captured the screen shot. Once I figure out how to post an image here, I'll show you what it looks like.
 

Andy R

Site Team
Staff member
Joined
Feb 14, 2002
Messages
957
Location
Dallas, Tx
Do you mean the big ad at the top that is surrounded by an orangish border? If so, that one is indeed supposed to be there. But we do not server any pop-ups...
 
Top Bottom