Spice expert?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cooking4Fun

Senior Cook
I know they have various experts like sommeliers for wine, but is there a spices expert? I saw 1.1oz of nutmeg at a large grocery store for like $6.60 before tax versus 1.5oz of nutmeg at Aldis for $1.89 with tax. The quality difference can't be that great? I certainly appreciate the cost difference, but is there a huge compromise?

I'm no expert.
but as to your question, yes - there can be significant differences.
that said . . . I find Badia equal in quality/freshness to McCormick, for example.
Spice Hunters is also good - really expensive (!) - but they do have stuff the 'big brands' don't carry....

perhaps someone with Aldi spice experience can chime in - they have an extensive selection but the store is not on my regular route so I've not bought any.

the other issue is freshness. spices/herbs that have been ground/powder/etc lose their punch much faster that "whole" spices - ground clove vs whole clove....ground pepper vs peppercorns....

there's an old thing - toss them after a year . . . which, if you can get quality stuff for 89 cents a jar vs $4.89 for McCormick's . . . is a good thing....

On the Other hand... I rarely toss spices. I may use a tad bit more but I don't find they lose that much. Yes, some more than others but still. Start looking at the prices against how much you use? Ouch - that can triple the costs (if not even more) and you can not buy them in smaller amounts.
Bulk Barn has loose spices, but then if you are talking about freshness in bins with flip lids and scoops to dole out. Just use your imagination!