ISO help/advice canning corn

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

The Princess

Assistant Cook
I have the power pressure xl and want to can raw corn~can't seem to find any recipes. Can someone please help??!!! I've never done it before
Thanks in advance

I have the power pressure xl and want to can raw corn~can't seem to find any recipes. Can someone please help??!!! I've never done it before
Thanks in advance

If this is a pressure cooker it is good for pressure cooking. Not approved by sources (national center for home food preservation, or university extension offices) for canning. A first choice for canning is a pressure canner.

I picked up a used presto pressure canner last week for $10, it had been used one time. You also might want to join a canning/preserving forum or facebook group, to help walk you through your first time canning corn.

You may run into other sources of internet information saying otherwise, but if you care about your health, use safe methods for canning. You are worth it.

according to the NCHFP the reason pressure cookers are not "approved" is simply because the canning gurus have not run the time/temp testing on small volume vessels.

according to the NCHFP the reason pressure cookers are not "approved" is simply because the canning gurus have not run the time/temp testing on small volume vessels.

That's correct. The canning gurus get grants for each type of testing and there are 100 variations of pressure cookers and instapots, which would take so much money, no one will most likely grant them that. It seems reasonable they won't test them, or all of them. It would be a waste of time given that instapots are coming out with new fangled options, so more and more of them. Nearly every year there are new models in all companies producing them.

Instead they test methods with canners for each fruit/vegetable.